As mentioned in part one of this series, it is possible to do affiliate marketing without a blog or website.
As a beginner, you may ask: How do affiliate marketers make money online without a blog?
The first and most important step is to find an affiliate niche. Are you into fashion, DIY for deco, newborn or knitting? You will struggle if you go nicheless, because your market will be too broad to target.
Before settling for an affiliate product or service, ask yourself these questions:
Is it in a profitable niche? Are people willing to pay for it?
If your affiliate product or service is in a profitable niche, that’s not enough. How many people have paid for it so far and what their reviews are is what you should be concerned about.
To find a product review online, on Google search, key in: Affiliate product/service+reviews. For example, if you want to promote Bluehost, search Bluehost+reviews.
Remember, sometimes high reviews come from other affiliate marketers promoting the same product and want to make a sale.
Look for reviews by people who have spent actual money on the product/service you’re interested in. I prefer products/services with at least many 4.5 stars review. Below that does not cut it.
How high or low is the Conversion Rate?
To arrive at CR, we have to understand Click Through Rate. CTR is the number of times people clicked on a link in promotion. So, if 2000 people see your affiliate ad and out of the 2000 only 200 people click on it then the CTR is 20%.
CTR=(Number of clicks ÷ number of times your ad has been seen)*100
If out of the 200 clicks only 10 make a purchase, then the conversion rate will be (10÷200)*100=5%
So Conversion Rate= (Number of actions performed ÷ Number of click throughs)*100
What percentage will you receive as commission?
Different affiliate programs come with different commissions. Factor in the time and money you spend, to determine if an affiliate product/service is worth sweating for.
What is the search volume by users? High low?
If no one is looking for a product or service online it means there is no market for it and your promotional efforts will go to waste. How do you know if people are looking for an affiliate product or service that you want to promote?
On your preferred keyword searcher, simply type the name of the product/service and look for search volume.
Let’s cut straight to the chase. Here are ways you can promote your affiliate links without a blog:
This is the best way affiliate marketers can promote affiliate products. You can create videos for YouTube and Vimeo. Or create videos you can send to your social circles on WhatsApp, Facebook or LinkedIn.
How can you do affiliate marketing with videos?
The best way is not appear too salesy. Provide value by showing people how to use a product or service you already use for the sake of honesty, because it will show.
For example, if you are in the blogging niche, you can promote Elementor by helping beginner bloggers learn how to install WordPress with Elementor. Go into detail by showing them how to get a host for their WordPress blog, show them how to configure all the necessary WordPress settings then show them how to install and use the Elementor plugin.
Do not forget to include affiliate links that will lead your viewers to the product landing page. It is advisable to promote affiliate links for products/services that have a free/trial plan, in order to protect yourself from backlash, just in case people are dissatisfied with product. When they upgrade by paying, you will eventually get your commission. Elementor, Tailwind and Canva are good examples of tools to promote because they have free plans.
By now, you should know that Pinterest is one of the best platforms for traffic.
How can you promote affiliate links on Pinterest?
Once you have been accepted into an affiliate program, this is what you should do:
- First create a business account or if you have a personal account convert it into a business one.
- Update your profile with all the niche keywords.
- Create boards with the relevant niche keywords.
- On Canva, create pins with a ratio of 2:3. Make sure the pins are attractive and not too stuffed with words.
- On Pinterest, click on Create Pin.
- Upload the pin you created on Canva.
- Create a free landing page with Wix. Pinterest does not allow people to add raw affiliate links because it looks spammy. So create a landing page explaining what you are promoting. Do not forget to disclose that you will get paid should one purchase through the affiliate links you are promoting.
- Add the link to the landing page as the destination URL.
- Fill in the description box with relevant keywords. The description should have a natural ring to it.
- Do not forget to add title.
- Add the pin to the relevant board.
To reach as many people as possible, you can invest in Tailwind, which is a powerful scheduler and a trusted partner of Pinterest.
To realize success with Pinterest, apply consistency. Pin 30-50 times a day, not forgetting to repin content from other pinners in your niche.
You can use this to market just about anything with or without a blog.
The first step towards achieving success with email marketing is building an email list.
There are platforms that sell targeted email lists but it’s not advisable to go with those. The best way is to build a list yourself.
You can do so by purchasing sign up forms from various platforms like MailChimp or GetResponse. Such email subscription companies provide the hosting so you won’t need a blog.
Once you have your sign up forms in place, it’s time to drive traffic.
You can prompt people to leave their email addresses by giving valuable freebies like ebooks or meal plans. Once your list has increased to a good number, start sending valuable content with your affiliate links. Purpose to send newsletters at least once a week.
Different social media platforms are better for certain types of niches. For example, if you are an affiliate marketer in the fashion, food, fitness or DIY for deco niche, you will realize success on Instagram because it is largely a visual platform.
If you are into career advice, health, finance or blogging niches, you may realize success with Facebook and LinkedIn.
It’s also about testing what platform work for which niche.
One thing to remember about a platform like Facebook is, you can generate traffic to your affiliate links but under strict guidelines.
For instance, promoting direct affiliate links can get you banned. So it’s better to create landing pages that will capture leads with a compelling call to action then lead them to the product landing page where they can sign up or make a purchase.
Most affiliate marketers use Google ads, Facebook ads and Bing ads to promote their links.
These ad platforms run on pay-per-click so you have to know how to target your audience properly lest you lose your ad money to vanity clicks.
Ad platforms looks at the quality of a landing page to determine how to rank your ads. If the product landing page is deceitful, your account will be blocked. If users do now interact with your landing page, search engines will not give priority to your ads.
This means promoting your affiliate links to those who visit your site the first time but don’t make a purchase.
Out of 50 people who click on your affiliate link, maybe just 2 will make a purchase. The 48 who won’t have performed the required action will be added to a cookies list and tracked using a special pixel, and when they make a purchase after say 3 months, you get a commission.
This is when an affiliate marketer pays to leverage email list built by other influencers in their niche, to promote their affiliate product.
For instance, you have just been accepted into a finance affiliate program. You have received one or two sales after a week of promotion on social media and Google ads. But, you would like to increase conversions. You decide to visit a site like Udimy and research the best finance influencers with good quality email list. You check the reviews this influencer has and go ahead to pay for his/her email list. If s/he thinks your offer is good for his subscribers, s/he will send it to them at a rate-per-click.
When looking for solo ads beware of people selling lists that don’t convert.
Online Forums and communites
Quora and Reddit are 2 of the best forums to promote affiliate links without a blog.
How do you participate in forums?
Look for a forum in your niche. For example, “Fitness+Online forums”. Once you’ve found one you would like to join make sure that you’ve read the guidelines—especially note whether affiliate links are allowed. Create a profile with keywords, then start answering other members’ questions. Provide value instead of just slapping your affiliate links and running away.
You can also have your own forum by creating Facebook Groups where marketers in a similar niche as you can join and find answers to their questions.
Before people can buy your affiliate products, they will have to trust you. So make sure that you offer value before anything else.
Steemit & Medium
These publishing platforms are open for anyone to join. With medium though. You have to pay 5$ per month if you want to read more than 3 articles per month and have access to publishing rights.
You can actually make money from both platforms. Steemit pays in form of bitcoin while Medium pays a portion of the 5$ from other members who clap on your articles.
So while promoting your affiliate links on these two platforms, provide value first so that people who find your content useful can clap.
While it is possible to do affiliate marketing without a blog having one is the best way to go about it. If you want to know how to start a blog, read this to find out. Before you start a blog though, you have to know what to blog about. Find out your niche. Read this to find a profitable niche for your blog.